Manic Monday: Adventures in Graphic Design

Standard

I’m an art junkie. Written, spoken, visual…I love it all! You already know I love to write. I can’t sing worth a lick, but a few years ago, I took up photography. Early achievements encouraged me to continue with it, and over the years I’ve seen some success. Not enough to quit my day job yet 😉 but success none the less! I’ve been contracted to do quite a few sessions for everything from individual kiddos to sports teams and family reunions. I was most recently hired to shoot a model for a book cover! I’ve got a few more of those gigs in the works right now, so I’m really excited about that! Something about seeing your image on the cover of a book….AWESOME!!!

<squirrel> See how easily I get distracted….

Now, onto the topic of today’s blog post. My most recent foray into the art world has been in graphics design. That book cover shoot I mentioned? The author wanted a calendar made from those images, but since they were taken with a graphic artist in mind, they needed some design work. Crazy woman right here offered to give it a go. I thought “Hey, I know Photo Shop. How hard can this be?” *Snort* Three days later, my “designs” were looking more like something you’d find on a Pin Fail board. So….. I became a veritable sponge, soaking up every book, class and bit of advice I could get my hands on. I learned vectors, rasters, layers, masked layers, adjustment layers, plug ins, you name it. I also learned humility and a new found respect for the knowledge and talent it takes to do this kind of work. The result was a 12-page calendar I’m proud to say “I Designed!!!” Woohoo!

I learned a lot working on that calendar and I was eager to apply those techniques to other designs. So I’ve decided to share some of the graphics I’ve worked on. I don’t see Lions Gate calling anytime soon, but hey 😉 I hope you enjoy looking at them, and please feel free to offer your feedback. I never want to stop learning, and critiques are an artist’s best friend!

 

PS. Hug your designers people. Seriously. Go. Hug them.

One thought on “Manic Monday: Adventures in Graphic Design

  1. Wow! That is amazing work! I love the covers you’ve done. And as for the shout outs, I love the hell out of you. ❤ You were one of my very first readers and you have been beyond awesome in all that you do. You'll always have a special place in my dark little heart…and in the SKALS line! Keep doing what you do.

Leave a Reply

